Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


These awards are presented annually to a junior or senior athlete with the best combination of academic and athletic ability as voted upon by the Membership Body.

 Criteria for the award:
1. Must be a senior in athletic eligibility
2. Most outstanding combination of academic and athletic achievement
3. Must have a 3.30 Cumulative Grade Point Average through the spring semester
4. An athlete at any SUNYAC full member institution 

The men's award is named after the late Dr. Sam Molnar, who was the Director of Athletics at Potsdam for over thirty years. He also coached various sports during this period. He served as SUNYAC President during the 1962-63 and 1963-64 years.

The women's award is named after Dr. Dolores Bogard, who was an administrator and coach at Cortland for over twenty years. She served as SUNYAC President during the 1987-88 year.

Dr. Sam Molnar
SUNYAC Men's Scholar-Athlete Award
Dr. Dolores Bogard
SUNYAC Women's Scholar-Athlete Award
Year Recipient School Sport Year Recipient School Sport
1975-76* Bruce Teague Plattsburgh  Track & Field, Cross Country        
1976-77 Charles A.Lineweaver Binghamton  Soccer        
1977-78^ James R. DeWitt Geneseo Swimming & Diving        
1978-79 Francis Demyan Potsdam Basketball        
1979-80 Neil Moore Fredonia Track & Field, Cross Country        
1980-81 Stan Van Gundy Brockport Basketball         
1981-82 Donald Brenner Fredonia Track & Field, Cross Country        
1982-83 Peter Szabadhegy Binghamton Tennis        
1983-84 Stephan Laperriere Potsdam Ice Hockey 1983-84* Jenny Willink Oneonta  Field Hockey
1984-85 Thomas Pillari Binghamton Wrestling 1984-85 Michele Stiles Univ. Buffalo Basketball
1985-86 Amir Alishahi Oneonta Soccer 1985-86 Patricia Looney Cortland Soccer
1986-87 Michael Kopp Oneonta Soccer 1986-87 Sue Lind Geneseo Basketball
1987-88 Raul Martynek Binghamton Soccer 1987-88 Kathy Kane Plattsburgh Track & Field, Cross Country
1988-89 Jonathan Buhner Oswego Wrestling 1988-89 Melissa Cohen Binghamton Soccer, Basketball, Softball
1989-90 Bret Johantgen Fredonia Track & Field 1989-90 Victoria Mitchell Cortland Cross Country, Track & Field
1990-91 Thomas Van de Water Geneseo Swimming & Diving 1990-91 Kelly Ellis Brockport Softball
1991-92 Art Gunther Binghamton Cross Country, Track & Field 1991-92 Amy L. Donner Buffalo St Track & Field
1992-93 Jeff Merrill Binghamton Basketball 1992-93 Neomie Friedman | Denise O'Connell Binghamton | Buffalo St Soccer | Softball
1993-94 Jeff Winden Fredonia Track & Field, Cross Country 1993-94 # Carol Merchant Cortland Field Hockey
1994-95 Edward Curry Geneseo Soccer 1994-95 Keena Bush Geneseo Track & Field
1995-96 Doug Premo Cortland Baseball 1995-96 Dani Innerst Cortland Field Hockey
1996-97 Thomas Cordaro Fredonia Soccer 1996-97 Megan Mackey Geneseo Basketball
1997-98 Tom Massey Brockport Football 1997-98 Rebecca Tucker Brockport Lacrosse, Field Hockey, & Golf
1998-99 Josh Muldner Geneseo Swimming & Diving 1998-99 Jessica Allen Plattsburgh Soccer
1999-00 Mitchell Waters Oneonta Soccer 1999-00 Jessica Nadolny New Paltz Soccer
2000-01 Matthew Aboudara Fredonia Ice Hockey 2000-01 Cara Jacobson Oswego Field Hockey
2001-02 Niklas Sundberg Plattsburgh Ice Hockey 2001-02 Melissa White Geneseo Track & Field, Cross Country
2002-03 Jonathan Amoia New Paltz Swimming & Diving 2002-03 Lizbeth Oppenheimer Oneonta Softball
2003-04 Paul Weismann | Luke Kitchen Geneseo | Oneonta Ice Hockey | Soccer 2003-04 Carrie Santore Brockport Gymnastics
2004-05 Kyle Hauptfleisch Oneonta Wrestling 2004-05 Lindsey Marranca | Jodie Schoppmann Cortland |
Gymnastics | Cross Country
2005-06 Adam Haas Cortland Football 2005-06 Andrienne Musu Jackson-Buckner Oneonta Field Hockey, Track & Field
2006-07 Scott Horsington Fredonia Swimming & Diving 2006-07 Michelle Coombs |
Christy Finke
New Paltz |

Swimming & Diving | Track & Field, Cross Country

2007-08 Rob Maxwell Brockport Baseball 2007-08 Liz Montgomery Geneseo Track & Field
2008-09 Joshua Wake Oneonta Wrestling 2008-09 Julia Hopson Fredonia Track & Field
2009-10 Nick Guarino Fredonia Track & Field, Cross Country 2009-10 Sandra Goettleman  Geneseo Track & Field, Cross Country
2010-11 Nick Guarino Fredonia Track & Field, Cross Country 2010-11 Michelle Milkovich Geneseo    Field Hockey
2011-12   Jonathon Whitelaw    Oswego  Ice Hockey 2011-12 Sarah Ficarro Fredonia Swimming & Diving
2012-13 Spencer Lefort Fredonia Track & Field 2012-13 Lucia Meola Cortland    Softball
2013-14 Jack Caradonna Geneseo Ice Hockey 2013-14 Rachel Malone Brockport Cross Country
2014-15 Gordon Lyons Geneseo Basketball 2014-15 Madeline Scozzie Cortland Gymnastics
2016-17 Brad Campion Geneseo Soccer 2016-17 Camille Leonard Plattsburgh Ice Hockey
2017-18 Jeff Doser Geneseo Swimming & Diving 2017-18 Kayla Clohessy Oneonta Track & Field
2018-19 Nicholas Giordano  Oneonta  Soccer 2018-19 Jennifer Groat Plattsburgh Softball
         2018-19 Elise Ramirez Geneseo Cross Country/Track & Field

* First year awarded
^ Changed Name to Dr. Sam Molnar Award
# Changed Name to Dr. Dolores Bogard Award
$ Awarded in June for that academic year (previously was award for past academic year)